On Friday 16th the Collegium Novum Zurich will perform a programme 'Live Music & Silent Films'. One of the silent films is Rain (1929, Joris Ivens/Mannus Franken) and the score Hanns Eisler 'Fourteen Ways to Describe Rain' (1941).

A fixture of the Swiss music scene since 1993, the 20-piece ensemble Collegium Novum Zurich makes its U.S. debut performing over short silent film masterpieces. Don’t miss the rare opportunity to hear original and new soundtracks to Dada classics, Hanns Eisler’s best scores with the documentaries they were composed for, and the U.S. premiere of Iris ter Schiphorst’s composition for the American avant-garde film of Edgar Allan Poe’s story, The Fall of the House of Usher.

Jörg Schneider, trumpet, flugelhorn
Jonathan Stockhammer, conductor

Carola Bauckholt: Ghosts Before Breakfast (2008)
Film by Hans Richter (1928)

Iris ter Schiphorst: The Fall of the House of Usher (2014) U.S. Premiere
Film by James Sibley Watson, Jr. and Melville Webber (1928)

Erik Satie: Entr’acte cinématographique (1924), arr. by Andrew Digby (2007)
Film by René Clair (1924)

Hanns Eisler: Fourteen Ways of Describing the Rain, Op. 70 (1941)
For the film Rain by Joris Ivens (1929)

Hanns Eisler: Chamber Symphony, Op. 69 (1940)
For the film White Flood (1940, Frontier Films)

The Fall of the House of Usher is made possible with the generous support of the Jörg Schneider family.

Attendance is free with RSVP by May 09, 2014


Contact us


  • +31 (0)6 53960552




  • Visit address:
    Tweede Walstraat 19
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands


  • Post address:
    Tweede Walstraat 19
    6511LN, Nijmegen, the Netherlands

Social Media

Ivens.nl Archive


83 Items


5695 Items


29572 Items


678 Items


212 Items